“Won’t install” problem

There are occasional problems with Android Market that make it impossible to install a paid app. The installation fails because of a locked file. Solutions are to mount the phone on the PC and manually remove “/mnt/secure/asec/smdl2tmp1.asec” or an empty folder named “.android_secure”.

About svoxmobilevoices

Head of Product Management, SVOX AG
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to “Won’t install” problem

  1. Greg Stortz says:

    Hi there,

    I am having this issue and i am unable to find the files you are indicating to move from this post. I am also unable to refund this app. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!

  2. Marcus says:

    Sprint-Samsung Epic 4g. I don’t see where I can find this directory.

  3. Dave says:

    hi i downloaded the english voice male but when go back into android it cant find the tts extended. I am running 2.1.1 and the phone is a galaxy europa. Cheers

  4. Alexis García says:

    I Purchased the spanish Version. I try in a Android 2.2.1 .

    I try the booth methods :
    I delete folder .android_secure
    and the folder /mnt/secure/asec/ are empty therfore I cant delete smdl2tmp1.asec
    Can I help me ?

    Sorry for my poor english

    • What exactly is the behavior you see when you try to download and install one of our voices? Does the progress bar show “Downloading…”? After downloading do you see “Installing…” and then “Open” on the button in the top right corner of the description page of our app in Android Market?

      • Alexis García says:

        Hi Againg, When I try to download, does the progress bar show”Downloading” for a moment ( ever apear Green tone, don´t change to green progress) I suppuse that indicate one error ( I can´t see are very sppedly and don´t download, I try different conecctions, and nothing the same result include buyb the other spanish voice an nothing. I can see the error in a log of Market?
        Many thank you.

  5. Alexis García says:

    Finally I can delete the file “/mnt/secure/asec/smdl2tmp1.asec”
    Actually the booth Folders are empty:
    /mnt/secure/asec/
    .android_secure
    How I Can Check the Error To download de Voice in The market, Whe I try to download show a message but are very sppedly. The Errors of market saves in a Log file?
    Many Tank you

  6. Gene says:

    I am unable to follow this process either. I don’t have this file to delete “/mnt/secure/asec/smdl2tmp1.asec” . When trying to update to 2.2 Grace voice, the download icon appears and then the process ends. It does not download. Downloading other items and updates from Android Market are not an issue.

  7. immerzl says:

    I have a HTC Wildfire S and I try to download the “UK Victoria Voice” from market.android.com. The download starts and after a couple of minutes the download is at 100%. Then I get the following error: “Download error, Download was unsuccessful, please try again”. I tried this at least a dozen of times. With and without SD card. I checked with Astro file manager the ““/mnt/secure/” directory, it is empty. Is there a way to download the APK file directly?

Leave a Reply

