How to Use?

  • Install free Classic Text-To-Speech engine
  • Install a Mobile Voice, such as US English, German, Mandarin, …
  • On Android 2.2 goto Settings -> Voice input & output -> Text-to-speech settings
    On Android 2.1 and earlier install the free TTS Service Extended App and open TTS Service Extended
  • Enable Svox Classic TTS engine at the bottom of the screen
  • Go to Default Engine and select Svox Classic TTS
  • Go to Default Language and select the language for which you have purchased a voice
  • Click on “Listen to a preview” to hear a short greeting.
    If the voice you hear is not the voice you purchased, try the following: select Pico again as default engine and play a preview, then again select Svox Classic as default engine and play a preview
  • Uncheck “Override App Settings”
  • Open an app such as TalkToMe or uNote, enter a text and enjoy your new Mobile Voice reading it aloud
About svoxmobilevoices

Head of Product Management, SVOX AG
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to How to Use?

  1. Pete Early says:

    I cannot find ANY SVOX applications in the Android Market. I would really like to buy high quality German. Any advice, ideas? Thanks in advance.

    • The SVOX packages will only show up for Android versions up till 2.1 (Android Eclair). As soon as we get the go ahead from Google, we will make the Froyo packages available.
      Note also that the TTS Extended package is only available in the Android Market for 2.0 and 2.1.

  2. David says:

    Just a little feedback:
    I bought German, English and Spanish voices. I´m very satisfied with the quality of the voice itself.

    I see lots of room for improvement in the following areas:
    1.) Better userguide
    2.) Feedback from the application (i.e. via pop-up message / toast) if it fails for some reason (i.e. language not installed, etc.)
    i.e. for me German worked, so I bought the other two languages as well. After that, none of the 3 worked any more and I was quite annoyed. I had no idea what went wrong. I reinstalled all of them, did not help. I redid the settings in TTS Extended. Did not help either. Only when I re-installed the SVOX Classic App, opened it (don´t know if it was necessary) and redid the TTS Extended settings again it fixed itself. Now it is working all fine. Nevertheless, I think some users give up a lot sooner so I hope you can improve that. In short, the core product (voices) is a lot better than its presentation and I hope you can work on that.

    PS: I am using Android 2.1. A few weeks ago when I was on 1.6, I did not manage to get the German voice to work back then (did not try the others). Only with 2.1 it worked, with the problems described above. Feel free to delete this comment after reading it if you want.

    • Great feedback, thanks!
      We have noticed similar problems with TTS Extended. Tricks such as repeating the steps, stepping in and out of processes, calling the ‘listen to preview’ function etc. tend to get it going eventually, but the behavior is puzzling. If we find things we can improve on our side, we will definitely do it.
      BTW installing voices and switching between them seems to be smoother on Froyo.

  3. bill says:

    does not show up in my navigation software as a choice, just espeak and pico as well as the one that came with the navi software..no svox, wonder why? refund

    • On Froyo your navigation software will give you the choice of SvoxClassic. On earlier Android versions the navigation software must call TTS Extended instead of the TTS API that came the OS. If the navigation software does not call TTS Extended, you will not see SvoxClassic unless you upgrade to Froyo.

  4. Emmanuel says:

    Hello,

    I’m sorry to report SVOX Classic with french voici doesn’t seem to work for me on Android 1.6 on a Samsung Galaxy (i7500): No sound when clicking on “Listen to a preview”. I’ve tried with TTS Extented 2.2 and the RC05 of TTS Extended 3.0, and using the listed tricks for de/activating other engines and going back to SVOX Classic with no luck. After checking logcat, it seems the TTS Engine might be not correctly initialize and/or a Callback function set to null, here an except of logcat when trying to listen to a preview:

    E/ClassicTtsEngine( 2337): TtsEngine not initialized
     
    I/SynthProxy( 2337): setting speech rate to 140
    
    E/ClassicTtsEngine( 2337): TtsEngine not initialized
    
    I/TTS received: ( 2337): bonjour
    
    V/TtsService( 2337): TTS service received bonjour
    
    I/TtsService( 2337): Stopping
    
    I/AudioFlinger(   63): stop(4096), calling thread 2337 for output 0
    
    I/AudioFlinger(   63): (> STOPPED) => STOPPED (4096)
    
    E/ClassicTtsEngine( 2337): callback pointer is NULL
    
    I/TtsService( 2337): Stopped
    
    V/TtsService( 2337): TTS processing: bonjour
    
    I/AudioFlinger(   63): start(4096), calling thread 2337 for output 0
    
    E/ClassicTtsEngine( 2337): TtsEngine not initialized
    
    
    Hope it might be of any help :-)
  5. Tobias says:

    Hello,

    I have Android 2.2 on an HTC Desire.
    I downloaded the SVOX German Voice and as I opened it it wants me to install SVOX Classic. But SVOX Classic is not available at the Market.
    So I tried to Install the “SpeechSynthesis Data Installer” from the Market.
    After the download finished the Packet-Installer says: “Application not installed” without any option…

    I tried so many things now and I also read that many people have the same problem.
    I’m a bit disappointed and hope it can be fixed soon.

    Greetings Tobias

  6. Tobias says:

    Hello,

    it’s me again.

    I have managed to install all the software now.

    But the SVOX module won’t show up in the settings.
    The only thing I can see is Pico TTS.

    Thanks in advance.

  7. David says:

    I am using 2.2 on a T-Mobile G1.
    For me, it works fine. I was able to find+download the app in the market without problems. I was unable to install the voices due to lack of space (they are copy-protected and can’t be moved to SD). I still had the extracted “results” of installing the voices on my SD though (on 2.1 I had more space) and they work. The copy protection is a pitty though, if there are any updates I won’t get them since I can’t install again.

    The other issue is that in the Voice Settings, everything turns grey when I select SVOX Classic as voice engine. So I can´t set the default language. Fortunately, most applications set it correctly anyway.

    Nevertheless, it works quite good and I like it. Just a pitty that I am in Argentina and can’t use Google Navigation right now.

  8. Jon says:

    If the voices have been released for 2.2 two weeks ago, how come on my 2.2 Nexus One when I search for SVOX on the market I don’t get any results (other than the unrelated app talk to me classic)? I also tried searching for Text-To-Speech, or the individual languages, all of which don’t show anything on the market.

  9. Maris says:

    I just purchased svox and the English voice, and followed the instructions for setup. The test voice works under the voice input settings. However, when I open Google Navigation, it no longer works. It asks for TTS to be installed. The choices lead me to the market for either TTS or SVOX, both of which are installed already. So now my navigation has no voice at all. How can I fix this?

    • Alan Jenney says:

      I am in a similar situation. When I first started with Google Navigation, it prompted me to install the default TTS (pico) and it spoke in British English.

      I since installed TTS Extended and the SVOX Classic engine with English (United Kingdom) voice. It was supposed to work with apps that use the extended API, such as TalkBack, but it doesn’t.

      Going back to Google Navigation, it prompted to install the standard TTS software or SVOX, but I found that re-installing the default Pico TTS voice was the only thing that got me the voice back on Google Navigation.

      In the meantime, I understand that as I am on Android 2.1, applications have to specifically call the extended API to benefit from the alternative voices.

      When I get the update to Android 2.2, any calls to TTS will be directed to whichever voice engine I choose. Shouldn’t be too long for that.

      Although I still don’t get why the products I have purchased don’t seem to work with apps that are supposed to call the extended API.

      • Alan Jenney says:

        After my earlier comment, I found that there was a maintenance release for the Motorola Milestone (Droid) MR2.5 that installed Update1, which cured the TTSE problem. Yay! Still have to wait for Android 2.2 for the voice to work with the default TTS, but this is progress.

  10. Maxamed says:

    O.K I did Post a comment and sent an e-mail after I bought this SVOX app Arabic version , first and for Most I want to know if this app will work for Google Navigations some ppl said they used it in comment section of the app I am using Andriod 2.1 Samsung Galaxy S I wish I will get my reply here
    FYI I downloaded TTS extended ver, and set up evry thing per insturctions. talk to me software and google translate is working for me too, it’s the Maps that Intrested in?

  11. NateW says:

    My phone is the samsung intercept,when i go to the default speech engine i only have one pick and that is Pico TTS,SvoxClassic is not on the list of options,this is after i dl all ur software. My phone is running 2.1.How can i get svoxclassic as my default engine,having a great voice is of no use to me if i can not hear it.

    • Unfortunately on 2.1 TTS is limited to those apps that write against the Extended TTS interface (such as Talk To Me). On Android 2.2 you can configure Svox Classic for any app using the Android TTS API including Copilot and Google Navigation.

      • Juli says:

        I got Samsung Galaxy S, with android 2.2. Downloaded Svox Classic, installed voice (Dutch), did all the settings, test is working fine, but Google Navigation doesn’t work! any advise?

      • Do you have Dutch selected in Android Settings -> Language & keyboard -> Select language? Google Navigation insists on a voice that matches the language in the keyboard settings…

  12. jparvio says:

    Copilot live v8 navigation software does not allow me to use Svox at all. It only offers *pico* on HTC Wildfire.

    I have installed all necessary items.. Any ideas?

    Thanks.

  13. Rj says:

    I have android 2.2 and when I open up the Navigation it always prompts me to select which voice engine i should use, Pico or SVOX. I select Svox and then it prompts me to install a voice which I have already done. I need some support on this subject and I want to know how some people got it to work on 2.2/

    • Several users purchased the UK voice but their Android language setting is US English. Google Navigation reports that no voice matching the language setting is found.
      Please try the following: go to Android Settings -> Language & keyboard -> Select language and select English (United Kingdom).
      Medium term we will release an update that uses any English voice even if the Android language is set to English (US).

      Another hint is to briefly change to Pico, then back to Classic Engine. Android is sometimes flaky about starting the TTS engine and the switching makes sure the Classic Engine is started.

  14. James says:

    I installed GBR English, voice doesn’t announce in Bluetooth with Voice Command. Everything else seems to work just fine withthe app.

  15. Update 2.0.9 of the Classic engine should fix this problem. Can you confirm?

  16. Max says:

    How do I get TTS Extended? I have android 2.1, but it’s not availible in Android market. At least not in my country it seems.

Leave a Reply

